I am not going to take pictures everyday and post them on here. I know that I am going to forget to do something like that. Instead, because I am focused on making my life better for myself and my family, I am going to write about it EVERYDAY. Mostly I will focus on my journey to get healthy again. I may even talk about my family. We’ll see how it goes!

Since 2011 has started, I have been on a mission to get healthy again. Not only do I want to lose weight, but I want to feel better in general as well. Also, since Austin is so small I want to make sure that I am setting him up with positive eating habits.  I have to say that the first week was easy. No problems. I even lost 8lbs. The second week, however, was a completely different story. I think I did as bad as any one person CAN do. I would like to say that I don’t know why, but that’s not true. I do know why, I just haven’t figured out how I can keep from sabotaging myself. My main problems are these:

1. I eat when I am emotional. That could be angry, sad, depressed, happy, scared, nervous, excited…. it doesnt matter. Any emotion that tips the scales (haha) in my life causes me to search out and find food for relief and/or comfort. I intepret this to mean that I need to open my mouth and express these emotions rather than continuing to keep them bottled inside all the time. Yes, that is another problem I need to overcome all together…..

2. I eat when no one is around. This one is REALLY going to be the kicker for me. It’s easy to eat bad when there is no one around to question what I am doing. The times that are the hardest for me is in the morning driving to work and at night after Austin goes to bed. In the morning the best way to keep me from stopping at McDonalds is by having some sort of sweet with my breakfast. It’s usually 100 calorie cookies, or something like that. When Austin goes to bed, I get bored. I want to stay awake to see Mike, but then I start to kind of graze. I find myself going back to the kitchen, even if I am not hungry.

3. I eat bad after allowing myself a treat. I can’t have just one. I can’t have a small piece. Once I do, I have to keep going, and going, and going until I am completely sick to my stomach and can’t stand to even look at sweets or fattening food. I have no idea why I do this. None.

4. finally, this biggest sabotage of my health kick is the weekend. By Friday, we are just about out of food. I have tried to buy extra to compensate, but when I get home on Friday, I REALLY don’t want to cook. So I cave.  On Saturdays, I spend my day with Mike. He eats like a horse and doesn’t gain an ounce. I, however, am not so lucky! When Sunday hits, I am usually back in the groove, although, I end up feeling guilty and caving for one meal or another.

I have identified my problem areas. Now I need to attack them with a plan…… right?

Today is not exactly my day one, but it is day one of blogging my journey. I don’t want to say how much I weigh yet, but I will say that I can lose at least 100lbs before I am happy with my weight. Ugh. That number sounds so daunting. I can do this though. I have faith in myself.

