In the past month or so, I have been researching food. Lame, I know, but there are so many things that go into the food we eat that we don’t even consider.

For example, did you know that all of the USDA approved dyes used in food and other products have been banned in countries all over globe? Countries that have a higher mortality rate than the US have ALL dyes banned from their foods and products. Nearly all of the dominant food dyes have been linked to cancer. Additionally, when the human body takes in these dyes, they come back out through our waste, showing that our bodies have a difficult time digesting them, another sign that they are bad. (At this point I would cite my source, but my literature is at work… and I am at home. When I go back, I will edit and add my source!)

That’s just the research on food dye. I have also researched HFCS. Don’t even get me started on that one and the commercial that says, ” Whether it’s corn-sugar or cane-sugar, your body can’t tell the difference.” LIES. Apparently, the body CAN tell the difference. With typical cane sugar, your body has a burst of energy and crashes shortly afterward. With corn-sugar, your body has a burst of energy, crashes, and then craves food. HFCS creates a cycle of wanting more and more HFCS.

With that being said, I have decided that not only am I losing weight, but I am striving to go organic for my family. I have already started making the switch. All boxed foods and products have switched to organic. Now I just need to start shopping at the farmer’s market and cooking for the season, and in a healthy way. I want my family to feel good about themselves and what they eat! I am going to need help though. Recipes, anyone? (And preferably recipes that are FAST prep and cook time; less than an hour total)  I will be blogging about this new adventure as often as possible.

Lastly, and to go along with switching to organic, is that I would eventually like to get to the point where we eat fruits and vegetables so much, we can have our own garden. We’ve decided that this is not the year to do this, as the change alone is going to be difficult. If we can make it through the month of May, we can change our bad habits into new, healthy ones.

