Nearly a year ago, I lost a friend. To be completely honest with myself, it was my fault. It was. At the same time, however, I needed to lose that friend to learn a very valuable lesson.

You see, though losing the friend was my fault, there were so many other little intricacies that lead up to the falling out, that I cannot hold blame for what happened. In fact, hind sight being 20/20, I should have dropped this friend long ago.  I learned the following:

1. Never trust anyone except yourself. Time and time again people continue to prove this to me. I don’t think that its a bad thing, I just think that I need to stop laying so much trust in other people.

2. Even though I have knowledge and experience, this does not mean that I should share my fears of such knowledgeable things to others, even if it is to help another. I will never do this again. No matter how strongly I feel the urge in my heart, no matter how much the person desperately needs to hear it, I will not share it. My mouth will stay shut. People only hear what they want to hear.

3. It’s true, the old saying, “Burn me once, shame on you. Burn me twice, shame on me.” Though this has to do with another person involved in the falling out of my friend and I, it holds true. This person burned me as a child, and I swore to myself that I would never let her do it to me again. 15 years later, she did. Never again will it happen. Never.

And so, looking back, nearly a year later, I am thankful for the mess that occurred. I learned who my true friends are, learned a lot about people I thought were my friends, and learned some new things to keep myself in check in the future. Everything happens for a reason; people come and go into our lives for a purpose. I know why these people were in my life, and I am grateful for everything that have taught me.

