With tomorrow being Father’s Day, I thought that I would use this post to reflect on all the things I love most about my dad. My dad is one of the most complex people I know, but at the same time, his complexities are strangely familiar to my own. At any rate, my heart fills with emotion when I think of all the love and respect that I have for my father. My father played many important parts in my life, including:

Preacher. I didnt need to go to church, my dad preached about LIFE. His soapbox was always ready to come out for a lecture, here and there, and even to my friends if needed. I guess this was one of the reasons that my friends loved my father so, he told them the truth that their parents neglected to speak. I, on the other hand, wished he would shut up.  I practiced that art of nodding and smiling and continually saying, “yeah”. Instead of arguing, it was always better to smile and nod. Now days, my lectures are a little less. Maybe my next lecture should be on how to not be like him…. my soapbox ix frequented often for my nieces or Mike. I guess I am just getting ready to play preacher to my son. I couldn’t think of a better role.

TEACHER. School was always important to my father, but going hand-in-hand with his preaching job, was his teaching job. Yet again, his teaching was almost always focused on life. Doing chores, learning how to paint a house, use power tools, take care of your brother and he will take care of you, solve your own problems,etc. Even the smallest detail that may have gone unnoticed, hasn’t. I now see the bigger picture, and, I do not know it all. 😉

FIGHTER. My dad was the first person to fight for the people that he loves. If something happens, he was there for us. He fought for numerous reasons, though the majority that come to mind involve incredibly stupid teachers. Through his advocating for our needs, he taught us every day not to let other people walk all over you, stand up for what you believe in, and protect your family because nothing else matters.

PROBLEM SOLVER. My dad knew how to fix a problem before it even began. More or less he taught us not to put ourselves in situations that we can’t handle. Though I think I have done an almost admirable job at this, I have to say, knowing that my dad is there to help with the problem solving makes life a little easier. He is so swift at problem solving, it’s as if he sees the solution automatically. His problem solving abilities have nearly been passed to me- I am great at getting a solution in place, but I dont want to do all the work at times. I guess I am more like him than I thought- He came up with the solution and I fixed the problem.

LOVER. My dad can appear to be a stolid man, and at times can be scary in his demeanor, if you don’t know him. He’s actually a lover. Some of my favorite and most memorable moments with my father were when he was the lover. I remember when I was about 10, my dad got me a bouquet of flowers for Valentine’s Day to tell me he loved me. It was the first time I had gotten flowers from anyone. As I got older, we traded notes on one another’s cars to read in the morning. I still have one such note hanging on my refrigerator so that I can see it everyday.  It says, “Never forget- We always love you. You could never be a failure if you follow your heart.”

I am so very thankful for my father. He made me who I am today.

 

I love you dad.

My Dad

