It’s been a while since I’ve written anything, so I guess I should start with the fact that I am indeed DIET (and regular) POP/SODA FREE! It was a long term goal of mine- to be completely rid of the pop by the end of 2011.

A study was released in mid-October about the long-term effects of diet pop and I decided the very next day to stop all together. I can’t find the link to the study…. I think that I might have it at work somewhere, but I can tell you this:

1. If you are considering stopping, just do it. Don’t wait.

2. Buy Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate candy bars and keep them with you at all times. Depending on the severity of your diet pop and/or caffeine addiction, you will probably start with 1-2 bars. I started with 2 bars in a day to keep the pounding headaches at bay. After a couple days I was down to one bar, two days later down to miniatures. I am currently (two weeks later) free of needing anything.

3. If you were a pop drinker for the flavor, find something else. I suggest Vitamin Water XXX Zero. It’s sweet enough to take the place of a diet soda, but with no harmful effects, loaded with vitamins, and it tastes good.

4. If you were drinking pop because you don’t like the taste of water, I suggest SoBe Lifewater. It tastes good, and it’s water!

5. Stick to it and add your new habit into your lifestyle. This was hard the first week. When other people are getting pop, I was getting water. Water is better. Much better. I am making a conscious choice to do what is better. My choices have now become habit.

I consider myself very lucky to have this willpower to quit drinking pop. Now, if only I could find a way to get rid of fast food. Oy. That’s next up on the list.

